Science Advisory Committee (SAC)

The SAC provides external advice to the FRIB Laboratory Director/Project Director on scientific choices, scientific vision, and matters related to optimizing the scientific discovery potential of FRIB. The SAC is comprised of eminent scientists, most with extensive rare-isotope science expertise.

  • David Dean (Chair), Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Ani Aprahamian, University of Notre Dame
  • Klaus Blaum, MPI für Kernphysik
  • Rolf Ent, Jefferson Laboratory
  • Robert Janssens, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Kate Jones, University of Tennessee/Knoxville
  • Augusto Macchiavelli, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Gail McLaughlin, North Carolina University
  • Michael Ramsey-Musolf, University of Massachusetts/Amherst
  • Heather Crawford (ex officio), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Witold Nazarewicz (ex officio), Michigan State University Facility for Rare Isotope Beams