FRIB’s nuclear engineering partnership supporting the National Nuclear Security Administration enters eighth year

The FRIB Laboratory is entering the eighth year of its nuclear engineering partnership with the Nuclear Science and Security Consortium (NSSC). Funded by the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), eight universities comprise NSSC:

  • University of California at Berkeley, Irvine, and Davis,
  • University of Nevada at Las Vegas,
  • Texas A&M University,
  • University of Tennessee – Knoxville,
  • George Washington University,
  • and MSU.

NSSC includes five national laboratory partners: Lawrence Berkeley, Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos, Oak Ridge, and Sandia national laboratories.

NSSC recruits and trains students and postdoctoral researchers in nuclear disciplines relevant to the nation’s nuclear security agenda. It prepares them for research and leadership roles at the U.S. national laboratories.

MSU has four principal investigators, eleven graduate students, and two postdoctoral researchers as NSCC members.