Stopped Beam Advisory Committee (SBAC)

The FRIB Stopped Beam Advisory Committee (SBAC) is charged by the FRIB Laboratory Director and advises the FRIB Experimental Systems Division (ESD) and the ESD Stopped and Reaccelerated Beam team on converting fast rare-isotope beams into low-energy beams via beam stopping, delivering low-energy beams for experiments, and preparing beams for reacceleration. SBAC members provide their experience to support FRIB in optimizing and expanding its scientific-research capabilities. The SBAC members are:

  • Sebastian Rothe (Chair), European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)
  • Friedhelm Ames, TRIUMF
  • Timo Dickel, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung
  • Peter Schury, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK) Wako Nuclear Science Center (WNSC)
  • Richard Vondrasek, Argonne National Laboratory