Members of FRIB user community named 2022 American Physical Society Fellows

28 October 2022

Seven members of the FRIB user community have been named 2022 Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS): Daniel Bardayan, Jose Crespo Lopez-Urrutia, Anna Frebel, Carla Fröhlich, Daniela Leitner, Elizabeth Ricard-McCutchan, and Andrew Steiner.

APS is the major professional organization for physicists in the United States. It has over 55,000 members from academia, national laboratories, and industry. The mission of the APS is to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics for the benefit of humanity, promote physics, and serve the broader physics community.

Fellows are selected for their outstanding contributions to physics. Each year, the number of APS fellows elected is no more than one half of one percent of the membership.

Daniel Bardayan

Bardayan was elected for a Fellowship for “groundbreaking efforts to study explosive astrophysical events with exotic beam measurements and the development of unique experimental devices to perform such studies.”

Bardayan is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Notre Dame. Read the full Notre Dame release.

Jose Crespo Lopez-Urrutia

Crespo Lopez-Urrutia was elected for a Fellowship for “groundbreaking experiments on sympathetic cooling of highly charged ions and many contributions to spectroscopy for astrophysics, plasma physics, and tests of fundamental physics.”

Crespo Lopez-Urrutia is an adjunct professor at the Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics in Germany. Read the full Planck release.

Anna Frebel

Frebel was elected for a Fellowship for “leadership in several areas leading to gravitational wave detection, including the effects of environmental influences on the LIGO detectors and the searches for gravitational waves associated with astrophysical events, most notably gamma-ray bursts.”

Frebel is a professor of physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Read the full MIT release.

Carla Fröhlich

Fröhlich was elected for a Fellowship for “seminal contributions to nuclear and neutrino astrophysics, in particular to the understanding of supernovae, their nucleosynthesis, and the neutrino-p process, and for developing predictive models of supernova messengers.”

Fröhlich is a professor of physics and university faculty scholar at North Carolina State University.

Daniela Leitner

Leitner was elected for a Fellowship for “seminal contributions to a better understanding of ECR sources and pioneering the development of the fully superconducting ECR source VENUS, which remains the ECR community technology standard for high beam intensities.”

Leitner is a senior scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Read the full LBNL release.

Elizabeth Ricard-McCutchan

Ricard-McCutchan was elected for a Fellowship for “innovative and distinguished contributions to understanding the evolution of collectivity in heavy nuclei, critical precision experiments to test ab initio methods in light nuclei, seminal analyses of antineutrino spectra, and the development of new database tools to understand nuclear data.”

Ricard-McCutchan is a physicist in the National Nuclear Data Center at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL). Read the full BNL release.

Andrew Steiner 

Steiner was elected for a Fellowship for “pioneering a data-driven approach to constraining neutron star properties and the dense matter equation of state that combines advanced statistical methods, state-of-the-art nuclear theory, experimental constraints on bulk nuclear properties, and astrophysical data.”

Steiner is an associate professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK). Read the full UTK release.

Michigan State University (MSU) operates the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) as a user facility for the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science (DOE-SC), supporting the mission of the DOE-SC Office of Nuclear Physics. Hosting what is designed to be the most powerful heavy-ion accelerator, FRIB enables scientists to make discoveries about the properties of rare isotopes in order to better understand the physics of nuclei, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and applications for society, including in medicine, homeland security, and industry.

The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of today’s most pressing challenges. For more information, visit