Violin and Piano Concert Featuring the DiaZhao Duo

DiaZhao Duo

Concert details


Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 2 in A major, Op. 100      

I.          Allegro amabile
II.         Andante tranquillo – Vivace
III.        Allegretto grazioso (quasi andante)

César Franck (1822 – 1890)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major                  

I.          Allegretto ben moderato
II.         Allegro
III.        Recitativo-Fantasia
IV.        Allegretto poco mosso



DiaZhao Duo

Daniela Diaz (violin) and Qian Zhao (piano) started collaborating as the DiaZhao Duo in 2015 as students at Michigan State University (MSU), where they currently continue to pursue their careers in violin performance and collaborative piano, respectively.

The DiaZhao Duo made its Carnegie Hall debut in March 2018 as First Prize Winners of the 2018 “Golden Classical Music Awards Recital.” Qian and Daniela follow the idea of promoting the violin and piano repertoire as an essential form of chamber music to create engaging and valuable experiences for diverse audiences.

Born in Shenyang, China, Qian Zhao’s musical talent was already discernible at age four. She is now a graduate assistant of the Doctoral Collaborative Piano program at MSU, where she studies with Professor Zhihua Tang and Professor Derek Polischuk. In fall 2019, Venezuelan violinist Daniela Diaz will continue her education at MSU, as a graduate assistant in the Master of Music in Violin Performance program, under the mentorship of Professor Dmitri Berlinsky. She performs on an instrument made in 2016 by Paul Becker, kindly on loan from Carl Becker and Son.