The Novak Trio Performing Chamber Music for Cello, Violin, and Piano

Concert details


Trio in C Major, Hob. XVI:27 - Joseph Haydn
Finale. Presto

Berceuse, for violin and piano - Gabriel Fauré

Trio No. 2 in d minor, “Quasi una ballata”, op. 27 - Vitêzslav Novák

Sicilienne, for cello and piano, Op. 78 - Gabriel Fauré

Cafe Music - Paul Schoenfield

Howl's Moving Castle, for piano trio - Joe Hisaishi


The Novak Trio was conceived at MSU, where each member is a doctoral candidate at Michigan State University. The trio's name pays tribute to the composer of their inaugural performance piece, Czech composer Vítězslav Novák's Trio in D Minor. This relatively obscure chamber composition not only prompted Novak Trio's formation but also ignited their dedication to performing not only lesser-known pieces but also those by underrepresented composers. Their recent accolade includes securing the third prize at the esteemed 2023 Barbara Wagner Chamber Music Competition. Together, they have honed their skills under the tutelage of Yvonne Lam.

Feng Kang, the Taiwanese pianist, is currently in his third year and is guided by Derek Polischuk. Natasha Kubit, the violinist, also in her third year, is a student of Dmitri Berlinsky. Yu-Chen Lin, the cellist, is a second-year student refining her craft under the mentorship of Surgei Bagratuni.