2017 FRIB Visiting Scholars Program for Experimental Science names award winners

Last year, FRIB and NSCL initiated the FRIB Visiting Scholar Program for Experimental Science. The goal of the program is to encourage and help junior researchers to establish a research program at FRIB/NSCL.

The award supports short-term stays at FRIB/NSCL for junior/non-tenured faculty or staff members. The award consists of a stipend of $5,000 intended for travel and local expenses.

The first scholar in 2016 was Andrew Rogers, from the University of Massachusetts Lowell. Rogers spent last summer at MSU to work on the preparations for an experiment to explore isomers in the neutron-rich hafnium region.

This year, two visiting awards were given: Andrew Klose from Augustana University in South Dakota and Adam Fritsch from Gonzaga University in Washington. Klose will work on the development of laser spectroscopic experiments with the BEam COoler and LAser spectroscopy (BECOLA) facility, and Fritsch will work on detector developments within the Active Target Time Projection Chamber (AT-TPC) collaboration.