MSU nominates FRIB undergraduate research assistant for scholarships

Charlie Hultquist, an undergraduate research assistant at the FRIB Laboratory and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL), has been nominated by Michigan State University (MSU) for three nationally competitive graduate-school scholarships. MSU nominated Hultquist for the Churchill Scholarship, the Marshall Scholarship, and the Rhodes Scholarship. 

Hultquist is an MSU undergraduate student and MSU Honors College senior. He is majoring in physics and advanced mathematics in the College of Natural Science. Hultquist is a research assistant at NSCL for Remco Zegers, professor of physics at FRIB and in MSU’s Department of Physics and Astronomy. He is also a recipient of MSU’s Alumni Distinguished Scholarship. He is from Aurora, Illinois, and graduated from the Illinois Math and Science Academy. In March, Hultquist earned a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship 

Hultquist is among the 10 undergraduate students and four alumni MSU nominated for the Churchill Scholarship, the Marshall Scholarship, the Mitchell Scholarship, and the Rhodes ScholarshipAll the scholarships support students attending graduate school in the United Kingdom or Ireland.  

MSU has produced 16 Churchill Scholars, 20 Marshall Scholars, five Mitchell Scholars, and 20 Rhodes Scholars. 

The National and International Fellowships and Scholarships (NIFS) Office, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes. 

Read the original MSU Today article. 

Michigan State University establishes and operates the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams as a user facility for the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science (DOE-SC), supporting the mission of the DOE-SC Office of Nuclear Physics. 

NSCL is a national user facility funded by the National Science Foundation, supporting the mission of the Nuclear Physics program in the NSF Physics Division. 

The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of today’s most pressing challenges. For more information, visit