FRIB Users Organization holds election

03 January 2020

The FRIB Users Organization (FRIBUO) held an election for three positions on its executive committee in December 2019. Members voted for two general members and one member of the standing operations subcommittee. The subcommittee focuses on day-to-day operations at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory.

Those elected are:

  • Melina Avila (Argonne National Laboratory) — new general member
  • Zach Meisel (Ohio University) — new general member
  • Kelly Chipps (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) — re-elected to operations subcommittee

The two new general members replace Carl Brune (Ohio University) and Catherine Deibel (Louisiana State University), who concluded their terms of service.

FRIBUO is an independent organization that represents the nearly 1,400 FRIB users. The users are scientists and collaborations that have a major interest, investment, or stake in FRIB science.

The executive committee interacts regularly with the FRIB Project Director and FRIB Chief Scientist.

Anyone with a research or educational interest in FRIB is welcome to join.